1.

In my social group the structural norms of dressing are very loose. In the group there is not one specific type of dress. “Polhemus argues that the mixing of youth culture ‘tribes’ in recent years has meant less clearly differentiated boundaries between groups” (pg. 52). We all have different styles and dress differently from each other. Some are more casual than others, while others like to dress up a lot more. Some have more money and have nicer clothes than others. Our style also depends on where we are going or what we are doing. Some of the norms could be embodied by jeans, blouses, and dresses. My group is not easily picked out of from a crowd of people, since we are all different. If I was going to change the norms of my group I would have us all dress alike or at least have the same style. But, I would not want to do that because then we would all loose our own style and spunk that makes us each who we are.

ImageImageImage

2.

For my cousins 21st birthday it was a hot summer day. I assumed the party would be semi-casual, I did not expect everyone to be dressy. I arrived in a romper that I really liked; I was actually really excited for everyone to see it. But, as I walked in everyone was much dressier than I was. I was embarrassed because I had arrived underdressed. I still really liked my romper but it was not for the right for this occasion. I was so embarrassed and even uncomfortable that I ended up going home to put on a dress and then I went back to enjoy the rest of the party. “Dressed inappropriately we are uncomfortable, we feel ourselves open to social condemnation. According to Bell (1976), wearing the right clothes is so very important that even people not interested in their appearance will dress well enough to avoid social censure.” (pg. 35)

After this situation I started to think more about what I wore to each occasion. I did not want to be caught underdressed, especially at parties anymore. I would rather appear overdressed than underdressed. After the incident I started to put too much thought into my clothes for every occasion. But after a while I tried to let the fear of appearing underdressed go and just wear whatever I felt like wearing, instead of putting too much thought into every single outfit. I had to shake off that fear; otherwise my own personal style would not shine as bright with so much thought put into it.

Image

3.

I perceive my body as political. I think that my body could be a little passive, but overall it is political. I mainly follow most trends on the blogs and magazines. Although, I still have my own point of view and put my own twist to the clothes I wear, but I would not exactly say that is too political. But the clothes I wear are making a statement to the world. I think that my body can say a lot about myself. I do not think that it is just an object or a waste of space. I think that it is actively participating and very important in the world. Many people may think that the body is passive and that our minds are the only ones controlling our bodies. Instead, I think that our brains are part of what make up our body and are one of the factors in our body that make it political. My brain is always thinking something different and my thoughts are portrayed throughout my body; whether it be sad, angry, stressed or any emotion or thought. Without the body we would not be able to have a point of view portrayed.  “In other words, our body is not just the place from which we come to experience the world, but it is through our bodies that we come to see and be seen in the world” (pg. 44).

ImageImage

