November 3, 2013

The garments I chose laid out flat:

Image

Me wearing the garments at the mall:

Image

Image

Today is my third day with the dressing journal and it is pretty interesting blogging about my outfits. I am wearing a Hype t-shirt that I got for free at a Lookbook event that I went to. I paired it with shorts that were Jones Jeans I got at a thrift store and cut up and black Dr. Martens. Some accessories I added were my promise ring, gold flower earrings, a thin brown belt and a LAMB purse. I wore a normal amount of makeup with red lipstick. I threw my hair up into a messy bun since I was in a hurry getting ready. I went to the West Covina Mall in the afternoon with my mom to go shopping for a bit. We went into a couple stores just looking around. I chose this outfit because I mainly needed a quick outfit I can put on and also because I wanted to be comfortable while walking around in the mall. I also really liked the shirt, but had not had a chance to wear it out yet. These garments made me feel good about myself. I also felt comfortable while walking around the mall. While at the mall an employee at Sephora told me she really liked my t-shirt and that she wanted one like it, I told her that I got it for free at an event. After that while walking a boy smiled and would not stop staring at my outfit, I’m not sure if it was because he liked it or he did not. Then a group of girls looked at me smiled and started talking to each other about me. I guess I felt good since the worker liked my shirt, but I also felt awkward since people were staring and talking about me. Then when I got home my dad told me he hated my shorts and that they were ugly, so I did not feel as confident as I had. At night I went to my friend’s house for a bon fire. We had wine and cheese and had a nice time hanging out, but since I was wearing shorts and a T-shirt it was cold I had to borrow a sweater. My friend also complimented me on my boots, she said she really liked them. None of the readings came to mind as I chose it, since I just threw the clothes on. But while wearing them I thought about clothing communication from the book again. It made me think about what my clothes were communicating with the people that were just staring and talking about me. A quote especially came to mind, “we are still judged by the way we look” (pg. 113). I wondered why we all judge and talk about people’s clothing.

