Image

For my alter ego project I plan to be a chola. At first I did not know what to choose as my alter ego. But after some thinking and looking through different identities I chose to be a chola. I thought it would be interesting to dress, act, and look like a chola because I am definitely not like one at all. I tend to dress in a much different style. I like to wear bright colors, floral prints, knits and clothes that are totally different from cholas. I think it will be a lot of fun to try out but also very interesting. I think that I might get treated differently as my alter ego.

Image

A chola is a Mexican or Mexican-America girl typically in a gang. It originally meant someone who was of a mixed descent. The meaning varies in different areas, but it has to do with someone’s income and their manner of dress. The term cholo came after the Pachuco style faded away since the new style was much more casual. I was inspired to be a chola since I am a Mexican American and I do not know very much about cholos and would like to experience it firsthand. Even though I am a little scared about the outcome, I am excited.

Image

I plan to execute this look by changing my clothing style to begin with. I will wear the clothes that cholas typically wear. To begin I will wear khaki or blue pants that are creased and a black or white tank. To go over the tank I will wear a plaid long sleeve shirt and a bandana. For shoes I will wear Nike Cortez’s. For accessories I will wear big gold jewelry such as big hoop earrings, bracelets, maybe a bold big necklace or a rosary and rings. My hair will be big with my bangs puffed up high or cruched with a lot of gel and mousse. For makeup I will pencil in thin dark eyebrows, lip liner, and dark lipstick. I might also add some fake tattoos to give it an extra edge. I also plan to add some attitude to my personality. I need to make my voice less high pitched and with more of a Mexican accent.

Image

While in my alter ego I plan to go to different locations to see how different places react to my identity. My first location was inspired by the movie Selena because she was shopping at a nice store and she was rejected by the worker because of the way she looked. I think that in my alter ego I might get treated differently and like she was while at stores, I hope I don’t but I will see in the process. I also plan to hang out with my boyfriend and either go out to dinner or go out somewhere with him. I think that people might look at us differently since it would seem like an odd couple. Another idea is to go out to a bar with friends and see how it goes. Another idea is to go to school in my attire. My last idea is to go drink tea. I think it would be funny to go into a nice little tea spot in chola attire, since they do not normally go out to drink tea.

Image

Image

Image

I hope that my alter ego as a chola is successful!

